Discover the season’s most shocking thriller from Agnete Friis

“In this sensitive character study, Agnete Friis, who writes the Nina Borg mysteries with Lene Kaaberbøl, dares us to confront bad mothers and other outcasts.”
Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

Available in Paperback 4/10/18

Read an Excerpt

About the Book

Twisty and brimming with the emotional power of beautifully drawn characters, the solo debut by the coauthor of The Boy in the Suitcase is a brooding and atmospheric thriller that sets a young mother on a collision course with her past in order to save her son’s future.

Ella Nygaard, 27, has been a ward of the state since she was seven years old, the night her father murdered her mother. She doesn’t remember anything about that night or her childhood before it – but her body remembers. After a particularly bad PTSD-induced panic attack lands Ella in a psych ward, she discovers her son, Alex, has been taken from her and placed with a foster family. Desperate, Ella kidnaps Alex and flees to northern Denmark where she was born. But being back in the lonely seaside town forces Ella to confront the demons of her childhood. If Ella can start to remember the night her mother died, maybe her scars will begin to heal – or maybe the truth will put her in even greater danger.

WHAT MY BODY REMEMBERS | Agnete Friis; Translated by Lindy Falk van Rooyen | 9781616958961 | Paperback | 4/10/18 | $15.95 | Soho Crime

About the Author

Agnete Friis has coauthored four novels in the award-winning New York Times bestselling Nina Borg series: The Boy in the Suitcase, Invisible Murder, Death of a Nightingale, and The Considerate Killer. She lives in Copenhagen. What My Body Remembers is her solo debut.

Read an interview with Agnete Friis on her solo debut, What My Body Remembers